Caroline Speir
Museum Director

Ms. Speir began work at the museum in 2008, as a Historical Interpreter and has worked since 2009 as the Exhibit Designer. A native of Fort Smith and a life-long resident of the area, Ms. Speir has a long family history in Fort Smith, AR and Sequoyah County, OK and a vast knowledge of the area.  She also serves on the Board of Directors for the Fort Smith Historical Society and enjoys the passion with which the community of Fort Smith embraces its history and shares that passion to educate the public. She will graduate from the University of Arkansas Fort Smith with her B. A. in History/Public History in May 2020. 

Grace Devero
Museum Assistant

Ms. Devero assists with greeting visitors to the museum and soda fountain.  She also assists with curatorial duties.  A graduate of the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith, Ms. Devero holds a B. A. in History.

Calvin Evans
Museum Assistant

Mr. Evans assists with greeting visitors, answering the telephone and special events. A life long resident of Fort Smith, he is very knowledgable of the area's history.

Ivy Kirby
Museum Assistant

Ms. Kirby assists with greeting visitors, answering the telephone and special events.  She also keeps up with museum memberships.

Board of Trustees


Jerry Dean


Deborah Clark


Drew Linder

Past Presidents

Amy Grimes

Anthony Sims

Ken Blaschke

Terry Bracken

Kathleen Caldarera

Bobby Clark

Deborah Clark

Pennie Clark

Gala Forsgren

Chuck Girard

Amanda Hager

Darlin Hall

Deana Hankins

Jessica Hayes

Maggie Jones

Ashley Lewis

Madeline Santiago

Connie Manning

Janey Rappeport

David Roberts

Melissa Shaw Sikes

Sam Terry

Gwen Walker

Helen Ann Whorton

Advisory Council


Phone (479) 783-7841



320 Rogers Avenue
Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901

© 2016-2020


  • Wix Facebook page
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon